The Struggle by Bekah Steimel

I’m trying to light a cigarette

in a tornado

to break from the terrified child

and raise myself

like a flag of victory

waving to a world

of terrified children

 

I’m trying to build a snowman

in hell

to pit ice against flame

and believe whole-heartedly

that the fire will lose

that I will win

even if I must suffer through burns

that alter my reflection

 

I’m trying to strengthen my spine

though my binding is coming loose

to retain and clutch

the well-worn pages of my memories

while they try in desperation

to rip them out of my story

as though they were never written

Leave a Reply

