The Voice of Aleppo by Sheila Jacob

I rise from the splintering husk of a blown shell,

slip through pockets of air, my wings sparking,

trailing smoke between crumpled tower blocks

and satellite dishes mouthing coded messages.

..

I tremble across the city, roll war’s blood and blast

around my parched throat, loosen globs of trauma.

My gassed lungs wheeze; I croak, breathe the salt

spray of your foreign shore, circle its comfort zone.

..

You recognise my voice, up the volume on your mp3

muffling the scrape of nails beneath  fallen roofs,

dulling the cries of Rachel weeping for her children,

refusing to be comforted because they are no more.

..

I prey on your nerves, peck your empty hands, claw

for the gift of your heart beating and aching beside

my own. If I could remember how, I’d roost instead

on a treetop, enchant you at daybreak with my song.

One thought on “The Voice of Aleppo by Sheila Jacob

  1. Pingback: The Voice of Aleppo by Sheila Jacob | tommysonmartins

Leave a Reply

