Sleep You Away Another Day by Colleen Zoe

I Dream of One Day

Being free

of escaping while you sleep

I close my eyes and beg to dream…

then you open my eyes just to close them shut

smiling at me with that bucktoothed smut

twisting the knife, calling me slut…

Will I ever have anything better?

Could there ever be anything better?

Damnit,

Liquid

Lasts

Forever.

forever fluid, would you ever stay?

Running,

running

through my veins

(Down

my legs.)

But your

gaseous

verbiage could never be solid.

The candor you spoke with was never that honest.

Your beautiful soul was never quite flawless.

Forever the river in my fever dreams

Swelling ‘til they burst

At the seams.

Leave a Reply

