Deliberate Death of a Conformist by Paul Brookes

I insist I nodded in agreement
at all they accused me of.

I refuse to make a spectacle of myself.
I will not protest. I agree with all

the folk in power do. I always obey
the law. Drive correctly. I want

an easy life. No hassle. Why am I
guilty? Whatever it is I did it.

They tell me -That’s too easy.
You must have done something worse.

If we told you to jump out
of that window would you do it?

So I did. Now they arrest me again,
-You caused a public disturbance.

-I agree I say. – There must be something
You don’t agree with they say -No I reply.

– If we told you you died in that fall,
and this police station is heaven – I agree

Leave a Reply

