Political Gout by Andy Brown

My pain comes from the right, I can see it staring with red
rage at my questioning gaze. A red patch on the side of
my right foot, sometimes it appears to move inwards
but the pain remains the same as soon as I put any
weight upon the swollen patch. I have tried to
take a tablet for it but always had problems
swallowing, digestion is never an easy
issue for me, must continually chew
yet a paper instruction commands
me to swallow without thought.
The left foot remains stable
and firm a perfect counterbalance
for the pain that shoots through me every
time I place weight upon the inflamed digits.
It is so easy to walk a straight transparent path
when I realise what I must carry, share, apportion.
Panacea prescription for gout is healthier diet regime.

One thought on “Political Gout by Andy Brown

Leave a Reply

