Just another night by Abdel-Ilah Salhi

For the third time the waiter
tries to force me from my chair
The party was over at least half an hour ago,
but it still echoes in my head

I smoke one last cigarette
facing the shocking resemblance
between me
and the ashtray full of cigarette ends

Friends are all gone
the nice and the mean ones
I didn’t notice the departure
of those I haven’t categorized yet

The most generous insisted on paying the bill
the meanest left stealthily
grabbing the arm of the one I flirted with
throughout the evening

The waiter cleans the floor
while I watch the motion of the broom
It’s just one of those bars
closing doors in your face, man . . .
Get lost, you upset ashtray!

Leave a Reply

