Street Death by Marjon Van Bruggen

The car roars off
falling down
all dimensions change
an ant marches in front of my nose
he is HUGE; stops, looks at me
tries to tell me of his burdens.

He speaks Ant, a language I do not understand
rising behind the gesticulating insect
the nose of a shining shoe
a round and moving mountain
the face, belonging to the owner of the shoe
is blurred in a high distance.

The mouth moves, a sound rumbles out
“What is your name”?
how would I know?
reality is different down here
my name probably changed
my head feels light and wet and red.

Someone drags at my arm; it hurts
let go. I am comfortable on the asphalt
can you get the grit out of my mouth?
I know, some teeth are knocked out
it must be an ugly sight
now let me close my eyes.

I cannot stand the ant looking at me much longer
his message….I wish I understood
he seems so serious
the red flows slowly by; a small river
there is a wail in the air and in my ear
it can’t be her; my Mom is dead for years.

There she is. I told you things are different
down here and I feel so content
she will cradle me, rock me to sleep
let me finally come in the world of peace
where she lives now
I try to smile a bit in anticipation.

Oh, by the way, now that I know I tell you
angels have no wings
they only can fly ’cause they are weightless
having no earthly body
all colors slowly disappear
the light gets brighter and brighter.

2 thoughts on “Street Death by Marjon Van Bruggen

  1. Thank you for posting. Appreciated!

    Marjon.

    Enviado desde Outlook

    ________________________________ De: I am not a silent poet Enviado: miércoles, 13 de septiembre de 2017 17:27 Para: marjoncarlo@hotmail.es Asunto: [New post] Street Death by

    reubenwoolley posted: “The car roars off falling down all dimensions change an ant marches in front of my nose he is HUGE; stops, looks at me tries to tell me of his burdens. He speaks Ant, a language I do not understand rising behind the gesticulating insect the nose of a shi”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

