Bunch of Migrants by Antony Owen

“They met with a bunch of migrants in Calais, they said they could all come to Britain”

David Cameron

..

I have seen a bunch of tulips bow in a sea of petals

and placed them in my wheelie bin on top of dead grass

but I’ve never seen a bunch of migrants where I live.

..

I have seen as a child polluted stars above Calais

and they still looked beautiful in the black lace sky

I heard the weavers used to sell them in bunches.

..

I have seen cancer grow in bunches on a friends breast

but never saw a bunch of migrants outside hospital

and when cancer waited at the gate they both left at will.

..

I have begged a bunch of lads not to kick my head in

and when they did I ripped bunches of condemned grass

that now houses bunches and bunches of refugees.

..

I have listened to a bunch of right honourable gentleman

call human beings by labels like my Ma used to iron in shirts,

but I was always more than my name, like bunches of migrants.

..

6 thoughts on “Bunch of Migrants by Antony Owen

  1. Hi Sonja, I wish I had time for blogging but alas I don’t 😦 I’ve tried to create longer poems which expand the points I want to make. Thanks for being interested to read my work and good luck with yours as well 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Bunch of Migrants by Antony Owen | antony owen poetry

Leave a comment